This Year’s Full PlayStation Awards Recipient List

Sony recently held its annual PlayStation Awards ceremony, acknowledging top selling games from the year prior. As with recent installments of the event, which has been running since the first generation PlayStation was released, Sony also gave out special awards that were voted on by users.

This year’s awards covered games released between November 1, 2010 and October 31, 2011.

Sales-based prizes included “Gold Prize” for games that sold 500,000 and up, Platinum Prize for one million and up, Double Platinum Prize for two million and up, and so-forth. This year’s recipients were:

  • Monster Hunter Portable 3rd (Capcom, PSP): Quadruple Platinum Prize
  • Final Fantasy Type-0 (Square Enix, PSP): Gold Prize
  • Winning Eleven 2011 (Konami, PS3): Gold Prize
  • Gran Turismo 5 (Sony, PS3): Gold Prize
  • Dynasty Warriors 7 (Tecmo Koei, PS3): Gold Prize
  • Monster Hunter Portable 3rd HD Version (Capcom, PS3): Gold Prize
  • Tales of Xillia(kinda expected) (Namco Bandai, PS3): Gold Prize

To be the only game(not to mention, the PS3 HD Version clinched one of the prizes, too!) that got the quadruple platinum prize must mean it’s quite a big achievement. Imagine, you’re the only odd one out and, the best of all others! And yes, I, personally kinda like Monster Hunter(even though I hardly played it), too!

For the sales-based awards, Sony gives the development staff a cash reward. The Monster Hunter team received four million yen(wish I could even get this much!). The Gold Prize recipients each received 500,000 yen.

The Users Choice Award, which was added last year, is awarded to the top 10 vote getters from a public vote at Sony’s PlayStation Awards site. This year’s recipients(there is no particular order for this) were:

  • Monster Hunter Portable 3rd (Capcom, PSP)
  • Legend of Heroes Ao no Kiseki (Falcom, PSP)
  • Call of Duty Black Ops (Square Enix, PS3)
  • Gran Turismo 5 (Sony, PS3)
  • Catherine (Index, PS3)
  • Dynasty Warriors 6 (Tecmo Koei, PS3)
  • Atelier Meruru (Gust, PS3)
  • Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 (Square Enix, PS3)
  • Tales of Xillia (Namco Bandai, PS3)
  • Dark Souls (From Sofwtare, PS3)

This year, Sony added a World Game Award, also voted on by users at the PlayStation Awards official site. To qualify, the game had to have been developed outside of Japan. The top three vote getters received the award. Like the previous, this is in no particular order:

  • Call of Duty Black Ops (Square Enix, PS3)
  • LittleBigPlanet 2 (Sony, PS3)
  • Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 (Square Enix, PS3)

Sony also gave out a “PlayStation Store Special Award” to the five top downloaded game titles from PlayStation Store. Here’s this year’s pack, also, in no particular order like the previous few:

  • Dissidia Duodecim Prologus Final Fantasy (Square Enix, PSP)
  • Crazy Taxi (Sega, PS3)
  • Elemental Monster Online Card Game (PS3)
  • Hatsune Miku Project Diva Dreamy Theater 2nd (Sega, PS3)
  • Street Fighter III 3rd Strike Online Edition Fight for the Future (Capcom, PS3)

All in all, I think Capcom dominated this year’s PlayStation’s prize recipients.



About BakaNetz

BakaNetz is the stand-in author for Netto. Loves gaming and all, especially Ragnarok Online!